Kelly Bear C.A.R.E.S. Curriculum

IntroDUCTION Resources Research

The Kelly Bear C.A.R.E.S. Curriculum (Character and Resiliency Education Skills) is a cost effective, multimedia curriculum that is developmentally appropriate for large or small groups of children 4-9 years of age. Kelly Bear is a friendly, life-size-bear who interacts with real children and serves as both teacher and hero while the children master new skills and understand new concepts. Children readily identify with the green bear who makes mistakes but keeps trying to do his best. Interactive songs highlight the program. It has been field-tested and proven effective (click here for C.A.R.E.S. Curriculum Research).


Stop, Think, Feel, and Act in a Kind Way.
Leah Davies is helping a student develop empathy for others by saying, "Feel. How does she feel?" S.T.F.A. is an element of the Kelly Bear C.A.R.E.S. Curriculum.

The goals of the program are to enhance children's total development and to prevent problem behaviors by promoting the following 12 key skills:

  1. Self-awareness and self-respect
  2. Emotional understanding of self and others
  3. Social competence and constructive peer relationships
  4. Self-control
  5. Empathy and kindness towards others
  6. Problem solving and anger management skills
  7. Respect for individual differences
  8. Healthy living choices
  9. Perseverance and resiliency
  10. Refusal skills
  11. Personal safety
  12. Character traits such as honesty and responsibility

The twelve areas of growth are measured by evaluation forms completed by adult observers (often teachers) and by the children themselves. Parent evaluation forms are included and are completed during the Parent Program held the last session of the C.A.R.E.S. Curriculum.

Teachers.Net Recommends The Kelly Bear C.A.R.E.S. Program
The Kelly Bear multi-media curriculum teaches vital social skills and fosters children's emotional physical, and intellectual development. []



Learn more about this program and resources? Click Here